The North 63

Good to have a couple of new poems in the latest issue of The North – ‘Birmingham Canal’ and ‘Swimming Pool at Night, Doug Ellis Sports Centre’. Thanks to Peter and Ann Sansom. A cracking issue. Great to see David Crystal poems in there, who edited Dog magazine back in the day – haven’t seen work by David for ages.

Reading Round: a new reading group in Cheltenham

I’m delighted to be leading a Reading Round in Cheltenham and looking forward to starting it in September. Reading Round is a reading group with no preparatory reading or other homework. The focus is on reading and exploring a short story and a poem in each session: I will distribute copies and read them aloud, and we’ll discuss them in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. There’s more  information here. The Reading Round will take place at School House Cafe, a community-based cafe in St Pauls, walking distance from Cheltenham town centre. Sessions will be on Tuesdays at 2.00-3.30pm starting 17th September 2019. The Reading Round is free to attend, but places are limited and booking is essential. If you’d like to book a place or find out more, please send me an email. There are thirty sessions in total. Reading Round is sponsored by the Royal Literary Fund.

According to John James

This has just arrived. I’m pleased to have work in here along with such good company. Thanks to Kelvin Corcoran, and to Tony Frazer at Shearsman. The cover’s by Bruce McLean. Copies available from Shearsman.

From the Shearsman website:
‘Sadly, John James passed away in May 2018, just a month after launching his New & Selected Poems, Sarments (Shearsman Books) in London. Here friends, admirers and colleagues take their cue from 2 quatrains in James’s ‘Theory of Poetry’, and respond accordingly: Anthony Barnett, Kelvin Corcoran, Chris Cornwell,​ Lyndon Davies,​ Andrew Duncan,​ John Goodby,​ John Hall, ​Alan Halsey,​ Peter Hughes,​ Romana Huk​, Linda Kemp,​ Mark Leahy,​ Tony Lopez,​ Anthony Mellors,​ Ian Patterson,​ Simon Perril,​ J.H. Prynne, ​Denise Riley, Peter Riley,​ Gavin Selerie, Simon Smith,​ John Temple,​ Nick Totton, Karlien van den Beukel,​ Robert Vas Dias,​ Geoff Ward,​ John Wilkinson, ​Cliff Yates, plus a painting by Bruce McLean on the cover.’